Mrs. Ryan's Class

A Digital Learning Hub for students and parents

Infographic: A case for online homework

on June 4, 2016

download1This week I was asked to build an infographic related to teaching and learning with technology. As an elementary school teacher I have personally developed a love for online homework. I believe it engages kids in a meaningful way and can be appropriately differentiated based on students learning needs, time restraints, and ability level. I have been an advocate for online homework in my school, but I thought that building a simple infographic on the topic would help me to articulate these ideas more clearly to my colleagues.

Here is the final version of my infographic:

Online Homework in Elementary School.jpg

After some failed attempts with other infographic programs, I used the online resource, Piktochart, to create my infographic. I found the program to be simple and intuitive, but I had some issues with sizing images, adding “blocks”, and changing colors. I spent quite a bit of time learning how to use this tool and learned a few tricks that I will remember when using it again.

They are:

  • Watch and read the informational material provided by Piktochart
  • Instead of searching for the right color match in each block, type in the code for the color in the small box: 

grab2

  • Before creating the infographic, select the most relevant quotes/data/statistics to include that are vital to your message (too much curation during the creation of the infographic gets very overwhelming)

I would consider using infographics with my elementary aged students because of the evaluation and creative requirements of the project. Creating this infographic helped me to find relevant sources to defend my position, while keeping the message clear and concise. I would definitely provide my students with scaffolding and require extensive planning upfront to avoid frustration with the tool. This would detract from the learning and growth that is possible through the creation of infographics.

I used the rubric created by my professor to determine the critical information and graphics to include in my infographic. Without this guideline, I would have had a much harder time creating my final product. When I use infographic with my students, I will absolutely include a modified, abridged, and age-appropriate version of this rubric that outlines the requirements and provides guidance. I also took the advice from my colleagues in the planning stages and included information like screen time recommendations from the AAP and image planning.

Infographics seem like a great way to relay critical information in an easy-to-digest, user friendly format. I can see myself creating more infographics to send to the parents of my students throughout the school year. Infographics allow the flexibility to front-load information and explain an opinion all while supporting the topic with data and research. I think they are a valuable resource that I intend to use in my career both as a teacher and technology leader.  

2 responses to “Infographic: A case for online homework

  1. John Vieira says:

    Nicole, it looks as if we had similar issues creating our infographic. I found that it was very difficult to use when adding blocks with different multimedia, as it sent blocks onto preexisting pages. Regardless, your infographic is presented in an organized format and easy to follow with plenty of evidence to back up the reason for online homework in elementary school. One suggestion would be to consider adding links for the tools you recommend so that the viewer can interact with the resources provided. Nice job!

    -John V

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Most technology has a learning curve and it is wonderful that you shared insights from yours. Your recommendations for teachers as well as parents results in a multipurpose product. It is well designed, informative, and concise and your belief in the value on on-line homework is supported with evidence. A rubric will be sent via gmail.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

