Mrs. Ryan's Class

A Digital Learning Hub for students and parents

A Journey into Acrylic Painting- Post #2

on July 21, 2015

Today I decided to learn more about types of brushes and brush strokes. I started by watching a Youtube video that I found last week, Four Brush Strokes. This was a good jumping off point for me. I watched this video a few times, and practiced each technique that the artist introduced. I learned cross hatching, dry brush, how to create thin lines using a Liner Brush, and how to create an abstract flower using a Filbert Brush.

I really like the Filbert Brush, so I decided to look up more videos to learn other uses for it. I found the video “How to use Filbert Brushes for Decorative Painting.” I learned how to use the Filbert Brush to create more rounded Comma Strokes and how to fill in circular objects. I found that I love the way the Comma Strokes look using the rounder, Filbert Brush as opposed to a flat brush. The Filbert Brush makes the strokes look a bit like peacock feathers…maybe I’ll try a peacock next?

Comma Stroke with Filbert Brush

Comma Stroke with Filbert Brush

Comma Stroke with Flat Brush

Comma Stroke with Flat Brush

After practicing these strokes for a few minutes I felt like I needed more information, and another perspective so I browsed Youtube for a few minutes and stumbled on a video of an art teacher, Melinda Gahn, beginning a class on Acrylic Painting Techniques. I found this video to be helpful because she explains in simple terms the difference between a flat brush and round brush, the three parts of a paint brush (handle, bristle, and ferrule), the two parts of a bristle (flat and chisel) and how to hold your brush. I watched this video several times and paused it A LOT to learn how to paint straight lines with both the flat and chisel parts of the bristle, the Comma Stroke, the C-Stroke, the U-Stroke, and the S-Stroke.

I also learned some tips about how much paint to add to your brush, how to balance your hand with your pinky on the page, and how the art of brush strokes really comes from your shoulder, not your hand or wrist. I realized that I was definitely using my wrists more than my shoulder so that will hopefully help me have more control! I am discovering that using the internet for researching and learning about a topic allows you to broaden your scope of learning. I’m not sure that I would have ventured into learning more about the Filbert Brush had new material not been so accessible.

Here is some of my practice with the new strokes I learned:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Check back later to see my first go at painting with these new techniques!

4 responses to “A Journey into Acrylic Painting- Post #2

  1. keelygarden says:

    Nicole: I love the slide show. Can you teach me how to do that? I agree with you that the pause option on the video is key to our success. So much better than watching an instructor model it once or twice. kg

    Like

  2. Erin says:

    Nicole, I feel like you could hand some of these as abstract art already! I find the yellow cross hatch to be soothing. What style are leaning towards for your actual painting? I can’t wait to see what you paint! Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

    • nicoleryan2 says:

      Thanks so much, Erin! I like the yellow cross-hatching too…I actually did that for the background of the painting I’m working on this week. I’m not exactly sure what style I’m going for- but this week I’m trying to be realistic/naturalistic. We’ll see how it comes out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

