Mrs. Ryan's Class

A Digital Learning Hub for students and parents

Introduction

on July 8, 2015

My name is Nicole Ryan and I am a third grade teacher in Connecticut. I am the oldest sister in a large family and began my path to teaching at a young age, “teaching” my siblings and pets. I have worked in schools for as long as I can remember, first in my aunt’s and father’s classrooms as a volunteer, then as an intern and para-professional, and finally for the past several years as a classroom teacher.

I attended the University of Connecticut in the Integrated Bachelor’s/Master’s program and was blessed to find a job right away! I wholeheartedly love my students and my job. I am grateful every day to do this work.

When I am not teaching, or finding new teaching ideas on Pinterest, I enjoy spending quality time with my family, playing flute, singing, and I am dabbling in painting…more to come on this! I also love reading, going for long walks with my husband, and playing with my kitty, Flâneuse.

As I embark on this journey to earn my 6th Year Degree, I feel nervous and excited! I cannot wait to share what I learn with my colleagues, and most importantly, my students. I can’t wait to start this new journey!

2 responses to “Introduction

  1. Meredith says:

    Nicole-
    That is so cool that you have known you wanted to be a teacher since you were young. I always thought it might be something that I was interested in, but I didn’t fully realize it until after I had graduated with my bachelors degree. I also spend quite a bit of time on Pinterest looking for teaching ideas, and have had some success finding ways to integrate technology into the classroom. This program is going to be great and I am curious to see how people at different grade levels (since we have teachers of kindergarten all the way to high school) implement the things we learn. It will also be interesting for us to share our experiences in our classrooms and what worked and didn’t work.

    I am so excited to get to know you and everyone else better and hopefully learn a lot from everyone.

    -Meredith

    Like

    • nicoleryan2 says:

      Thanks, Meredith! I agree- it will be interesting and so helpful to hear different perspectives and experiences with integrating technology into our teaching. I have found that it can be a little daunting/scary at times, so I hope that this group of people with be a great support!

      I look forward to getting to know you too! 🙂

      -Nicole

      Like

Leave a Reply

